The Louisville Metro Police Foundation is dedicated to improving the Greater Louisville community and making our city a safer place to live, work and visit by supporting the men and women of the Louisville Metro Police Department.

The Police Foundation was founded in 2005 to support LMPD and its 1,500 officers and staff by providing much-needed financial resources beyond what the Police Department’s Louisville Metro Government budget can fund.

The vision for the Police Foundation came from G.J. Hart, CEO, President & Chairman of the Board, California Pizza Kitchen while serving as President and CEO of Texas Roadhouse, Inc., the restaurant company headquartered in Louisville.  Hart serves as chairman emeritus of the Police Foundation Board. As the son of a big-city police officer, Hart knows that the job of a police officer has always been difficult and is even more so today. Together with several other business and community leaders, he decided to create an organization that would increase business and citizen support for LMPD officers and staff while providing important private financial resources to supplement LMPD’s government funding.

As Hart has noted, "We knew how much the citizens and businesses of Louisville depend on our police force. When we learned that well over 90% of LMPD’s budget is devoted to its officers, staff and the basic equipment and facilities that every big-city police force in America needs, we realized there was an important role we could play. Now the Police Foundation is a vital resource for the safety and vitality of Greater Louisville.”

Dennis P. Heishman, Region CEO of Old National Bank and another founding member of the Police Foundation, adds, "There may be no other organization in Louisville that residents and businesses so fundamentally rely upon more than the LMPD. Our police officers deserve our gratitude and our support. The Police Foundation is making an important, tangible difference for this great community of ours.” 
The Police Foundation focuses its spending on three categories:

  • Programs
  • Equipment and training
  • Officers-In-Distress
During 2013, the Police Foundation funded the following programs:
  • The Foundation purchased an EOD 9 Bomb Suit for the Louisville Metro Police Bomb Squad with the financial assistance from UPS.
  • We were able to provide funding for the Gentlemen’s Academy, a six-week program to help troubled youth.
  • The Foundation updated the LMPD Mounted Patrol Facilities located in Iroquois Park, with the help of Bone-Dry Waterproofing and LG&E. 
  • The Foundation provided a portable Breathalyzers each patrol divisions to help in alcohol related offenses, such as DUI’s and public intoxicated.
  • We supported the "Don’t Drive and Text” Campaign by providing posters to the LMPD Traffic Unit.
  • The Foundation is the sole provider of funding for the LMPD Shop with a Cop Program, whereby each division provides food, clothing and toys to needy children and the elderly within our community.
For more information on Police Foundation projects, click here.

The Police Foundation is a private, independent and nonprofit charitable organization, tax-exempt under Section 501(c)3 of the Internal Revenue Code. Our federal employer identification number (FEIN) is 61-1498961.
The full 2015 LMPF Annual Report is available for download, click here.
The full 2016 LMPF Annual Report is available for download, click here.

Louisville Metro Police Foundation Staff

Ms. Tracie Texas Shugart
Executive Director
502.409.9LMF (563)



The Police Foundation is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of Louisville business, religious and civic leaders. The Board sets policy for the organization and directs all spending of Police Foundation funds.


Board of Directors


Jim Ellis
Chairman of the Board

Jeremy Schell
1st Vice Chairman

Chief Digital Officer
PriceWeber Marketing Communications, Inc. 

Justin Jokovich

Senior Director of Finance
KFC Yum! Center

Lamont Breland

Principal Broker
Breland Group Realtors

Will Wolford

Financial Advisor
Morgan Stanley Smith Barney, LLC

Glenn Hogan
Executive Committee member at large
President & CEO
Hogan Development Company

Troy Pitcock
Executive Committee member at large
Kentucky League of Cities

Camilla Schroeder
Executive Committee member at large

Advance Ready Mix Concrete, Inc.

Michael Houlihan
Past Chairman

President & CEO
Evergreen Rehabilitation 

Steve Bass

Neville Blakemore
Chairman, Great Northern Holdings, Inc.

Stefan Brown
Global Security Director, GE Home and Business Solutions

Randy Coe
President, Kosair Charities

Scott Colosi
President, Texas Roadhouse

Domenic DiMauro
Director of Security, WorldPort

Abbie Gilbert
Consultant, Humana

Kim Gorski
CEO, Synergy Rehabilitation

Luke Hancock, WMS
Financial Advisor, Investments
Clearpath Financial of Raymond James
Raymond James & Associates, Inc., member New York Stock Exchange/SIPC

Dennis P. Heishman
Region CEO, Old National Bank

Allen Hertzman
President & Co-founder, Johncol, Inc.

Shawna Jones
Regional Director of Restaurant Operations, White Castle

Ryan Jordan
General Manager, Churchill Downs Racetrack

Joe Kelley
President, Kelley Construction, Inc. 

Matt Lathrop
Director of Governmental Affairs, Yum!

Steve Loftis
Vice President of Facilities/Real Estate, Park Community Credit Union

Jeff Mardis
CEO, Rainbow Design Services, Inc.

Jackson C. Mullins
President, Fulfillment Concepts, Inc.

Kent Oyler

Dr. Syed Raza
Cardiologist, Floyd - Cardiology

Rev. Bob Russell
Bob Russell Ministries

Chuck Schnatter
Heine Brothers

Mike Sheehy
Sales Manager, Outfront Media

Scott T. Shoenberger
Chief Operations Officer, AJ Schneider Company

Don Stearns
LP Manager Mid-South Division, Kroger

William G. Strench
Member, Frost Brown Todd LLC

Matthew A. Thornton
President and CEO, Thorntons Inc.

Marty Tichenor
Manager Community Relations, Brown-Forman

Gary Tyler
President, Business First of Louisville

Martin Walters
Private Wealth Advisor, Ameriprise Advisors

Jennifer Bryant Wilcox

Aaron Young
Financial Advisor, Northwestern Mutual


G.J. Hart, Chairman Emeritus
CEO, President & Chairman of the Board,
California Pizza Kitchen


Advisory Board


Ulysses L. (Junior) Bridgeman, Jr.
Owner and President, Bridgeman Foods, Inc.